Preliminary thoughts…

My preliminary project ideas keep circling around the idea of storytelling. I love stories, and though I am not a writer by nature, I continually find myself drawn to the written word, in one way or another.

As I study digital media, my hope is to explore if and how social media/the digital realm has impacted how stories are told and received. Has attention span been effected by the internet? Is the narrative process cycling round to something more like oral tradition again?

It looks like I’m going to need to investigate the great wide world of narratology. I’ll be starting here, to get an idea of at least where to go in my research, and I’ve started compiling a potential reading list from the library. Some titles seem especially relevant to my subject, others possibly more general.

In a more practical vein, I’d like to play around with constructing a web application that encourages users to create narratives collaboratively, while abiding by social media standards. I find the intersection of literature and social media like this intriguing and want to see if I can create an environment in which it can become more accessible.

Leave a comment